Skip to main content


Bangor Ballet was founded in 1994 with Cinderella as its premiere performance. Since 1994 the company has been presenting high quality productions of classical and original works, including Swan Lake, Alice in Wonderland, Les Sylphides, Hansel and Gretel, Nutcracker in a Nutshell, An American in Paris, Carnival of the Animals, The Little Mermaid, Peter and the Wolf, Midsummer Night’s Dream, Porgy and Bess Suite, New York Concerto, a Tribute to Balanchine and others.  

In April 2008, Bangor Ballet dancers traveled to Vendome, France for an international cultural exchange and performance of The Little Mermaid.

Currently in its 22nd season, Bangor Ballet celebrated its 20th anniversary in 2013 with an evening at the Gracie Theatre that including special appearances by members of the original Cinderella cast from 1994.

The 2015-2016 company consists of 21 talented and dedicated members and 6 apprentices representing more than 15 Maine communities. These young women and men train during the week and rehearse on weekends. Many company members attend prestigious summer programs offered by Ballet Chicago, School of American Ballet, the Joffrey Ballet, American Ballet Theatre and others.

Ivy ForrestFounding Artistic Director Ivy Clear-Forrest began her professional career at the age of 15 dancing for George Balanchine in the New York City Ballt. She went on to become a soloist for the Joffrey Ballet at the age of 16 and a principal dancer at 17.

She has danced with or along side many of the foremost dancers of the 20th century, including Rudolf Nureyev, Gelsey Kirkland, Erik Bruhn, Suzanne Farrell, Melissa Hayden, Edward Villella and Maria Tallchief.  She has also worked with some of the century’s most famous choreographers, including Glen Tetley and Louis Johnson as well as George Balanchine and Robert Joffrey.

Ms. Forrest has been director of the ballet department at Thomas School of Dance since 1991.

After 22 years, Ms. Forrest is stepping down as Artistic DIrector in order to concentrate on her work as a teacher and to prepare Maine dancers for possible professional careers.




Co-Founder and Executive Director: Jane Bragg

Honorary Chair: Senator Susan Collins

Board of Directors

Judy Boothby - President
Samantha Lott Hale - Vice-President
Colette Sabbagh- Secretary
Lynn Seekins - Treasurer

Members at Large

Jessica BIshop
Deborah Claflin
Lisa Frazell
Karen Hover
Cassie Pillsbury

 See Company Page for list of current company members